Inclusion of SRMIST under 12(B) of the UGC Act

Office of International Relations (OIR) Inviting Bids for Medical Insurance for International students

BDS Admissions 2018-2019 University level Mop-up - SRM Dental College, Ramapuram

Commencement of class for MBBS Students - Year I (2018-2019 Batch) Notification

Few Seats Are Available For Admission against Cancellation

South Zone and All India Inter University Tournaments 2018-19

MBBS NRI Admissions 2018 - 2019 Notification

Notification for University level Mop-up for BDS Admissions 2018

Notification for University level Mop-up for MBBS Admissions 2018

Prof. Sandeep Sancheti takes charge as President of AIU

SRMIST has a new and unique feather to add to its cap with its Vice Chancellor Dr. Sandeep Sancheti taking up the mantle as the 97th President of The Association of Indian Universities (AIU). He has succeeded Shri. P.B. Sharma of Amity University. The AIU has a total of 720 members as Vice Chancellors to represent different universities throughout the country. Some of the other notable personalities who had assumed the position previously include Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, the second President of India.

Prof. Sancheti, known to be an institution builder, before joining SRMIST as its Vice Chancellor, served in various commanding positions in premier institutes of India such as Manipal University Jaipur, National Institute of Technology Delhi, Director NITK Surathkal and NIT Tiruchirapalli, NIT Calicut, School of Planning & Architecture (SPA) Delhi and NIT Goa, NIT Puducherry and NIT Sikkim.

The AIU, formerly known as the Inter-University Board (IUB) was formed by Lord Reading, a British Viceroy in the pre-independence era. It had functioned since March 23, 1925 as a body of authority to unite all universities under a single platform. The emergent IUB acquired a legal status as a registered society in 1967. It had assumed its present name in 1973. The AIU’s primary mission is to act as a medium for inter-university communication and activities. It also fosters inter-university coordination and enhance the current standards of education in the present day university scenario. It is also worthy of notice that the AIU also acts as a communication exchange between foreign Universities and Indian Universities working towards common interests and goals.

This is a memorable moment for SRMIST as the Institute’s Vice Chancellor has been selected for such an honourable position in such a prestigious educational entity. We wish him a fruitful year ahead in this new position. 

SRM IST awarded the most prestigious National Intellectual Property Award


The Journal of Confederation of Indian Industry, CII Communique, in its May 2018 edition, has briefed the Intellectual Property Award Ceremony that was held on the 26th of April, 2018 at New Delhi. Notably, SRM IST was crowned with the most prestigious Intellectual Property Award for the Top Indian Academic Institution for Patents and Commercialization, which was received by the Honourable Vice Chancellor of SRM Institute of Science and Technology.

The following is an excerpt from the CII Communique, with SRM IST in the list of the winners:

India Intellectual Property Convention and 10th National Intellectual Property Awards

The Confederation of Indian Industry (CII), in collaboration with the Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion (DIPP), and the Intellectual Property Office, India, has been organizing the National Intellectual Property Awards every year since 2009, recognizing the use of Intellectual Property Rights (IPRs) as a strategic tool in commerce and industry. Comprising a winning amount of 1 lakh in cash, a trophy and a citation, the awards are evaluated on the basis of number of IPRs granted/ registered, growth in IPR portfolio in the past five years, leveraging of IPRs for achieving commercial goals (evaluation, licensing, launching of new products/processes associated with granted/registered IPRs), efforts for inculcating IPR culture (R&D budget, employment of human resources for R&D, collaborations with industries and universities, licensing from other sources) and contribution towards the socio-economic development of the country.

Innovation is essential for progress and brings enormous benefit to society and the nation as a whole, said Mr. Suresh Prabhu, Minister of Commerce and Industry, and Civil Aviation, at the Award Ceremony, held on 26 April in New Delhi. “If there is no protection of innovation, there will be no incentive for innovating”, he said, noting that India has taken a number of steps and has passed relevant laws to improve on IPR protection. Mr. Chandrajit Banerjee, Director General, CLL, and Mr. O P Gupta, Controller General of Patents, Designs and Trademarks, Intellectual property Office, India, were also present on the occasion.

The Winners

  • Dr. Hanamapure Basagonda Bhagavanta: Top Individual for Patents & Commercialization, and WIPO Medal for Inventors
  • SRM Institute of Science and Technology: Top Indian Academic Institution for Patents & Commercialization
  • Council of Scientific and Industrial Research: Top R&D Institution/Organization for patents & Commercialization
  • WIPRO Ltd: Top Public/Private Ltd Company for patents & Commercialization in India (Indian), and WIPO IP Enterprise Trophy
  • Samsung R&D Institute India - Bangalore Pvt Ltd: Top Public/Private Ltd Company for Patents & Commercialization in India (Foreign)
  • Monk Akarshala Pvt Ltd: Top Indian Pvt Company (MSME) for Patents & Commercialization
  • Sabyasachi Couture: Top Indian Company /Organization for Design
  • P Sanjai Gandhi: Top Individual/Organization for best facilitation of Registration of GI and promotion of Registered GI in India

Click here to view the article in CII Communique magazine's May 2018 edition.

Click here for the direct link to CII News Letter coverage.